Mark Newnham Crowned Thoroughbred Excellence Award Winner At Godolphin Stud And Stable Staff Awards

Mark Newnham was crowned the inaugural winner of the Thoroughbred Excellence Award at the Australian Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards at Royal Randwick last week.

Gai Waterhouse’s assistant trainer, who was also the winner of the Dedication to Racing Award, was selected by the judging panel from among five finalists.

Mark was announced the winner at Tuesday’s award ceremony celebrating the achievements of all stud and stable staff from across Australia held at The Stables, Royal Randwick. Mark received a trophy and an additional $5,000 personally, with another $4,000 awarded to his stable, Gai Waterhouse Racing.

Mark Newnham said of his award: “I am really proud to be the first recipient of the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards and its great recognition to me personally in an industry that I’ve loved being involved in since I was 15. I think it’s a really great incentive to anyone involved in the horse industry and there is a category there for everyone to aspire to.”

Johan Petzer, Chairman of the Judging Panel, commented: “Mark is the consummate professional and he’s skills and talents are diverse across a range of disciplines in the industry. He’s dedication shines through and makes him a very worthy winner of the overall excellence award.”

Hall of Fame trainer Gai Waterhouse said of Mark’s contribution to her stable: “This is a well-deserved award by a talented young man. It is great to see such strong competition for the inaugural Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards. I am delighted to be a patron for such a terrific scheme and I hope to be involved for years to come as it grows and expands throughout the industry.”

All award winners were presented with their trophies by representatives from the judging panel at an event hosted by Racing Australia and Thoroughbred Breeders Australia. Stuart Ayres, Minister for Trade and Sport in New South Wales was guest of honour for the event with Sky Racing Channel’s Caroline Searcy MC for the occasion.

Each individual category winner collected $10,000, with their respective stud or stable receiving $2,000 to be shared between colleagues. The two runners-up in each category also received $500.


The six individual category winners will be presenting the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards Winners Plate at Warwick Farm on Wednesday 25th November, 2015 which is the first race on the seven race card.

The full list of winners and runners up are as follows:

Thoroughbred Excellence Award
Winner: Mark Newnham, Assistant Trainer, Gai Waterhouse Racing (NSW)

Leadership Award
Winner: Richard Nettleton, Farm Manager, David Hayes Racing (VIC)
Runners-up: Brian Gorman, Operations Manager, Swettenham Stud (VIC)
John Livingstone, Director of Operations, Gai Waterhouse Racing (NSW)

Horsemanship Award
Winner: Ben Cadden, Trackwork Rider, Chris Waller Racing (NSW)
Runners-up: Scott Eeles, Breaking Foreman, Darley Stud (NSW)
Stephen O’Halloran, Senior Foreman, Gai Waterhouse Racing (NSW)

Dedication to Breeding Award
Winner: Bernadette Hamill, Stud Manager, Yarradale Stud (WA)
Runners-up: Vikki Cannon, Senior Horseperson, Gooree Park Stud (NSW)
Gerard Ryan, Stallion Manager, Coolmore Stud (NSW)

Dedication to Racing Award
Winner: Mark Newnham, Assistant Trainer, Gai Waterhouse Racing (NSW)
Runners-up: Hayley Nichols, Stable Foreman, Schweida Racing (QLD)
Warren Hughes, Stable Foreman, McEvoy Mitchell Racing (SA)

Administration Award
Winner: Don Healy, Stable Representative, Griffiths Racing (VIC)
Runners-up: Cassandra Simmonds, Race Series and CRM Systems Magic Millions (QLD) Colin Tuck, GM Racing & Wagering, Australian Turf Club (NSW)

Thoroughbred Care & Welfare Award
Winner: Amy Taylor, Owner, Manager & Trainer, Affinity Park Thoroughbreds (QLD)
Runners-up: Lee Purchase, Stable Foreman, Darren Weir Racing (VIC)
William Adam, Trainer, NSW TB Rehab Trust (NSW)

The Power of Passion