Buffering retains Queensland Horse Of The Year Crown

Buffering claimed the honours from a list of strong nominees including Rudy, Tinto, and Jetset Lad. Moonee Valley has been the Robert Heathcote-trained galloper’s home away from home, having won three Group I Moir Stakes and a Group I Manikato Stakes. Buffering will attempt to add a second Manikato Stakes on Friday week. Buffering’s regular rider Damien Browne also enjoyed time in the spotlight after being named by the judging panel as the Queensland Jockey Of The Year while Jim Byrne secured the Metropolitan Premiership Award. The Queensland Trainer Of The Year went to Tony Gollan who rewrote history last season in breaking the long standing premiership record of the late Bruce McLachlan. Gollan’s three-year-old Traveston Girl also won the Queensland 3YO Horse Of The Year. The Magic Million 2YO Classic winner Le Chef received the Queensland 2YO Of The Year award while his winning rider Luke Tarrant took out the Ken Russel Queensland Apprentice of the Year Award. Glenlogan Park Stud made a clean sweep of the stallion awards when claiming the Champion First Season Sire with Rothesay, Champion 2YO Sire with Real Saga and Queensland Stallion Of The Year with Jet Spur.
The Power of Passion