Hong Kong International Race Nominations

With the initial entries released last week for December’s Hong Kong International race day, numerous Australian-bred were amongst the nominations. Leading the way was last start Group 1 Manikato Stakes winner Chautauqua (above) who is one of 17 runners carrying the AUS suffix nominated for the Hong Kong Sprint (1200m). In fact three runners from behind Chautauqua; Srikandi (2nd), Rebel Dane (3rd) and Terravista (7th) from the Manikato Stakes have all been nominated, with all four also entered for this Saturday’s Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington. Australian-based runners Hooked and Worthy Cause have been nominated for the Hong Kong Mile, where they will face a tough task, going up against World class miler and fellow Australia-bred Able Friend, a winner of the Mile last year and having returned last week with a scintillating victory over the sprinters at Group 3 level. A winner on the same meeting last week, Contentment has also been nominated for the Mile, as has last season’s Hong Kong Derby winner Luger and the former Gai Waterhouse-trained Group 1 TJ Smith winner Romantic Touch. Escado remains the only Australian-bred nominated for the Hong Kong Vase after the withdrawal of Caulfield Cup winner Mongolian Khan after suffering from a bout of colic during the week. Four runners carrying ‘AUS’ have been nominated for the Hong Kong Vase; Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes winner Complacent, Matt Laurie’s Escado, as well as the Hong Kong-based pair of Mr Gnocchi and Romantic Touch. Set to be held on December 13 at Sha Tin, a complete list of all Australian-bred runners can be seen below.
Able friend 20151025-r0903

Champion Miler Able Friend

Hong Kong Cup Complacent (AUS) – John O’Shea Escado (AUS) – Matt Laurie Mr Gnocchi (AUS) – Tony Millard Romantic Touch – Tony Cruz Hong Kong Mile Hooked (AUS) – John P Thompson Worthy Cause (AUS) – John Zielke Able Friend (AUS) – John Moore Contentment (AUS) – John Size Luger (AUS) – John Size Romantic Touch (AUS) – Tony Cruz Secret Sham (AUS) – John Moore Super Lifeline (AUS) – Tony Millard Stepitup (AUS) – Laurie Laxon Hong Kong Sprint Chautauqua (AUS) – Hawkes Racing Rebel Dane (AUS) – Gary Portelli Srikandi (AUS) – Ciaron Maher Terravista (AUS) – Joe Pride Access Years (AUS) – John Size Blizzard (AUS) – Ricky Yiu Divine Ten (AUS) – Me Tsui Golden Harvest (AUS) – Tony Millard I’m In Charge (AUS) – Caspar Fownes Key Witness (AUS) – Tony Cruz Not Listenin’tome (AUS) – John Moore San Nicasio (AUS) – John Moore Smart Volatility (AUS) – Francis Lui Strathmore (AUS) – Tony Millard Tour De Force (AUS) – John Size Emperor Max (AUS) – Stephen Gray Hong Kong Vase Escado (AUS) – Matt Laurie Mongolian Khan (AUS) – Murray Baker Back to Newsletter
The Power of Passion